My Credo

10 Dec

I am 68 years old and male, and like most old men I often have to leave my warm bed at night to go to the toilet to pee. Now my toilet is quite a bit off from my bedroom and I have to traverse both my kitchen and living room as well as my hall to reach my toilet … I have suitably dim night lights on in each of these rooms and I often thus feel like a plane following an airfield’s landing lights as I land on towards the toilet seat (ps. At night it’s so much more comfortable sitting down) .

Sometimes as I go through this nightly routine, this sudden semi-awake light jolt, feeble as it may be,  triggers my little gray cells to come up with what I am convinced is quite a bright idea, but as I am not really awake and not much inclined top  picking up a pen … as if I even could find one.. I make no record of this bright idea and thus it always seems to fade away by the time I return to bed, and by morning it is totally forgotten. Mornings I often wonder whether or not I am not perhaps smarter (or even wiser) than I really seem to be, because though I always forget  what my nightly brilliance was about, I do still have a lingering feeling of having been terribly brilliant.

Except for this past night: all the way back to my bed as I retraced my flight path along my personal illuminated airfield, I continued to mull over my brilliant thought and then contentedly fell asleep still mulling over it. Perhaps that is why for the first time this morning I actually remembered what my nightly episode of brilliance was about.

My episode of brilliance was also, it seems to me, even a bit deep, but then as you might have guessed from the title of this blog … My Credo …  this night I had formulated something for myself that was by any definition necessarily deep, which does not say anything at all about its validity however: I will let you be the judge

Here is what I came up with last night at about two thirty in the morning as I landed onto the toilet:

 

  1. Murphy’s law is recursive
  2. There is no free lunch
  3. Whenever possible, be a mensch

 

 That’s it.

That’s what 68 years of life’s experience has taught me.

That’s the sum total of my wisdom (If I have any).

That’s my Credo.

Leave a Reply

